Sustainable Development Goals

What Are the 17 Sustainable Development Goals?


The 17 Sustainable Development Goals are adopted by the United Nations General Assembly in 2015, in line with the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. These goals are “an urgent call for action”. The goals are for achieving a better and more sustainable future for all. They address global challenges such as poverty, inequality, climate change, environmental degradation, and peace and justice. The goals are interconnected and aim to leave no one behind.

The 17 goals are:

  1. No Poverty
  2. Zero Hunger
  3. Good Health and Well-Being
  4. Quality Education
  5. Gender Equality
  6. Clean Water and Sanitation
  7. Affordable and Clean Energy
  8. Decent Work and Economic Growth
  9. Industry, Innovation, and Infrastructure
  10. Reduced Inequalities
  11. Sustainable Cities and Communities
  12. Responsible Consumption and Production
  13. Climate Action
  14. Life Below Water
  15. Life On Land
  16. Peace, Justice, and Strong Institutions
  17. Partnerships for the Goals

Implementing Sustainable Development Goals will require action from governments, the private sector, civil society, and individuals. The goals provide a framework for countries to set their own national development agendas and measure their progress.


Read more about SDGs: